RADIO WAVES IN SEABROOK AT 6:RAISED ON THE RADIO

WRITTEN FOR RAISED ON THE RADIO..

RAISED ON THE RADIO
TITLE: RADIOWAVES IN SEABROOK AT 6

At the age of 6 I have many fond memories.
Sitting on the porch of an abandoned shop which once sold groceries.
Roy, Dennis, and myself. With a boombox set to FM.
Listening to LL Cool J‘s “I need love”, soon we were joined by Balinda & them.
The feeling I got was nice and fuzzy. Hearing that song for the very first time.
Even at my young age I felt the impact of LL’s Love song and rhyme.

Followed by Doug E. Fresh‘s “The Show” which was an awesome jam.
The Inspector Gadget synth made me go “Whoa that’s one of my favorite cartoons, man!”
My teen friends and syblings laughed as they tried to moonwalk in the sand on the concrete.
Someone found a large piece of cardboard perfect for breakdancing, “Let me try guys. That looks neat!”
So I laid on my back. They spun me around. All the while listening to the beatbox section. Such a novel sound.
I tried doing a 4 step with my little feet and not very well. The older ones laughed again.
A great time in our small NJ town.

Later that summer during the hot summer nights. My oldest brother and I listen to Metallica and such.
That’s when he became my musical mentor. Thrashing, headbanging, slam dancing. I miss those nights so much.
I always got my ass kicked by the older ones in our bedroom pit. Enjoyed each moment the summer before 1st grade.
My brother and I bonded, thanks to Metal. Megadeth & Metallica. Ozzy & Black Sabbath. My brother was proud of
the mini-headbanger he had made.

Then summer came to a sad end. The golden rule, pencils and the smell of brand new shoes.
It couldn’t stop Lars drums or LL’s sweet rap from putting on shows in my mind. Without the music at all times
I would get the blues.
I all ready knew what they had to offer in school. The best things I could learn came from casettes & radio.
Maybe I was a little too young to hear songs such as “Fade to black“. So what, I was hooked. I couldn’t let it go.
Looking back through all the years. I can hear all the songs that tickled my tiny ears.
All the music from then to now helped me learn, grow, and get passed some tough times of fear.
Music is my teacher and friend. My family and protector.
But remembering the Radio waves in Seabrook at 6, I see it in my mind’s eye, as if an image from a projector.

And now…

AWW!

Awwsome!

2 responses to “RADIO WAVES IN SEABROOK AT 6:RAISED ON THE RADIO

Tell me watcha think....

